

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

#### Trustees:

Mark Doty Carolyn Forché Scott Griffin Sarah Howe Paul Muldoon Karen Solie Aleš Šteger

Ian Williams

# JUDGES FOR THE

## 2025 GRIFFIN POETRY PRIZE ANNOUNCED

**TORONTO – September 19, 2024** – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that **Nick Laird** (Northern Ireland), **Anne Michaels** (Canada), and **Tomasz Różycki** (Poland) are the judges for the 2025 Griffin Poetry Prize.

Trustees Emeriti: Margaret Atwood Robert Hass Michael Ondaatje Robin Robertson Jo Shapcott Colm Tóibín David Young



**Nick Laird** was born in Dungannon in County Tyrone in 1975. A poet, novelist, screenwriter, critic, and former lawyer, his awards include the Betty Trask Prize, the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, a Forward Prize, the Somerset Maughan Award, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. For many years he taught at universities in the USA including Columbia, Princeton, and NYU, and is now the Seamus Heaney Professor of Poetry at Queen's University, Belfast.





**Anne Michaels** is a novelist and poet. Her books have been translated into more than fifty languages and have won dozens of international awards, including the Orange Prize, the Guardian Fiction Prize, the Lannan Award for Fiction, and the Commonwealth Poetry Prize for the Americas. Among many other honours, she is a Royal Society of Literature International Writer, a Guggenheim Fellow, has received honorary degrees, and has served as Toronto's Poet Laureate. Her novel *Fugitive Pieces* was adapted as a feature film and was chosen as one of the BBC's 100 Novels that Shaped the World. Her latest novel, *Held*, is currently shortlisted for the 2024 Booker Prize.

Photo credit: Marzena Pogorzały





**Tomasz Różycki** was born in 1970 and is a poet, translator, and essayist. He is the author of several volumes of poetry including *Hulanki i swawole* (2024), and the prose work *Zlodzieje zarówek* (2023). He garnered critical acclaim for the book-length poem *Twelve Stations*, and his collection *Colonies* — both of which, in their original Polish and in translation — earned awards such as Kościelski Prize, the Wisława Szymborska Award, Le Grand Continent Prize, the Samuel Bogumił Prize, the Vaclav Burian Prize, the Joseph Brodsky Award, and the Northern California Book Award. He has been shortlisted for the Nike Prize, the Griffin Poetry Prize, and the Oxford-Weidenfeld Prize, among others. Różycki was a fellow of the DAAD Artistin-Berlin Program in 2018, and was awarded a Senate of Berlin Fellowship in 2020.



### Note to Publishers:

The deadline for <u>receipt</u> of submissions for the 2025 Griffin Poetry Prize, for books published between July 1 and December 31, is **Friday**, **December 20**, **2024**.

If you have any questions regarding the rules, or would like to download an entry form, please visit our website, www.griffinpoetryprize.com.

For further information please contact:

Ruth Smith Executive Director Email: info@griffinpoetryprize.com