Skip to content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

David Bradford – Morris House Reading Series

November 24, 2022, 3:00 PM4:30 PM EST


David Bradford is the author of the Griffin Poetry Prize and Governor General Literary Awards finalist Dream of No One But Myself (Brick Books, 2021). Bradford is a poet, translator, editor, and organizer based in Tiohtià:ke (Montréal). He is the author of several chapbooks, including Nell Zink is Damn Free and The Plot. His work has also appeared in Brick, The Fiddlehead, fillingStation, The Capilano Review, and elsewhere. He holds an MFA from the University of Guelph and is a founding editor of House House Press. His second book of poetry, Bottom Rail on Top, works to complicate prevailing conceptions of Blackness by staging one personal present alongside American histories of antebellum Black life, and will be published in 2023.

The Morris House Reading Series brings both established and up-and-coming authors to Bishop’s University to present their work, answer questions, and meet with the audience during the informal reception that follows.

The Series is currently being supported by the Quebec Writers’ Federation, Bishop’s University Academic Enrichment Fund, Bishop’s University Bookstore, Canada Council for the Arts, and Bishop’s University Speakers Committee. The Series is also one of the founding members of the Literary Umbrella of Quebec (LUQ), a coalition of English-language Quebec literary promoters that shares its resources for the benefits of writers, students, organizers and the general public.

Authors who have previously visited us for the Series are listed in the Morris House Reading Series archives. You can also visit our Photo Gallery. For more information about the Morris House Reading Series or upcoming readings, contact its organizer, Dr. Linda M. Morra.



Cleghorn (McGreer Hall) Bishop’s University
2600 College St
Sherbrooke, Quebec J1M 1Z7 Canada
+ Google Map
View Venue Website