Skip to content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize submission deadline

December 1, 2016, 12:00 AM EST

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize is one of Australia’s most prestigious prizes for a new poem. The Prize – now open to all poets writing in English – is named after the great Australian poet Peter Porter (1929–2010). The Prize was first awarded in 2005 (Stephen Edgar) and was renamed in 2011, following Peter Porter’s death.
Past winners include Tracy Ryan, Judith Beveridge, and Anthony Lawrence. To date, Judith Bishop is the only poet to win the Prize twice.

Each year all the shortlisted poems are published in the Australian Book Review, giving them equal prominence. The overall winner (who receives $5,000 and an Arthur Boyd print) is then named at a subsequent ceremony.

Learn more here.

Return to the International Poetry Calendar.


December 1, 2016
12:00 AM EST