Skip to content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Walt Whitman Award submission deadline

November 1, 2017, 12:00 AM EDT

The Walt Whitman Award is a $5,000 first-book publication prize. The winning manuscript, chosen by an acclaimed poet, is published by Graywolf Press, a leading independent publisher committed to the discovery and energetic publication of contemporary American and international literature. The winner also receives an all-expenses-paid six-week residency at the Civitella Ranieri Center in the Umbrian region of Italy, and distribution of the winning book to thousands of Academy of American Poets members.
This year’s judge for the Walt Whitman Award is Joy Harjo.

Learn more here.

Return to the International Poetry Calendar.


November 1, 2017
12:00 AM EDT