Skip to content

2022 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist Announcement

TORONTO – April 13, 2022 – Scott Griffin, on behalf of the trustees of The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry, is pleased to announce the International and Canadian shortlist for this year’s prize.

The two winners, to be announced via our social media channels (website, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram) on Wednesday, June 15, will each be awarded $65,000. The other finalists — 3 International and 2 Canadian — will be awarded $10,000.


Late to the House of Words ● Sharon Dolin, translated from the Catalan written by Gemma Gorga, Saturnalia Books

Sho ● Douglas Kearney, Wave Books

Eccentric Days of Hope and Sorrow ● Ali Kinsella and Dzvinia Orlowsky, translated from the Ukrainian written by Natalka Bilotserkivets, Lost Horse Press

Asked What Has Changed ● Ed Roberson, Wesleyan University Press


Dream of No One But Myself ● David Bradford, Brick Books

Letters in a Bruised Cosmos ● Liz Howard, McClelland & Stewart

The Junta of Happenstance ● Tolu Oloruntoba, Anstruther Books/Palimpsest Press

Media Inquiries

Melissa Shirley
(647) 389-9510

General Inquiries

Ruth Smith, Executive Director
(905) 618-0420

Griffin Poetry Prize book stickers are supplied free of charge by The Griffin Trust. Please contact to place an order. Winner book stickers will be available after June 15, 2022. 

News Archive

2024 Announcements

Mark your calendars for these important announcements. March 20, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Longlist of announced April 17, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist announced May …

Announcing the 2024 Judges

TORONTO – October 4, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that A. F. Moritz (Canada), Jan Wagner (Germany), and Anne Waldman (USA) are the judges for the 2024 …

2023 Griffin Poetry Prize Winner

TORONTO – June 7, 2023 –The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce the 2023 winner, Best Barbarian by Roger Reeves, who received C$130,000 in prize money. The other finalists …

2023 Canadian First Book Prize Winner

TORONTO – May 17, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that Emily Riddle, author of The Big Melt, is the winner of the 2023 …