Skip to content

2023 Longlist Announcement

TORONTO – March 15, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce the 2023 Longlist. 

Judges Nikola Madzirov (Macedonia), Gregory Scofield (Canada), and Natasha Trethewey (USA) each read 602 books of poetry, including 54 translations from 20 languages, submitted by 229 publishers from 20 different countries.

Tasos Livaditis – Poems, Volume II  ●  Manolis Aligizakis, Canada, translated from the Greek written by Tasos Livaditis, Greece, Libros Libertad

The Study of Human Life  ●  Joshua Bennett, USA, Penguin Books

The Threshold  ●  Robyn Creswell, USA, translated from the Arabic written by Iman Mersal, Egypt/Canada, Farrar, Straus and Giroux

The Jaguar  ●  Sarah Holland-Batt, Australia, University of Queensland Press

The Hurting Kind  ●  Ada Limón, USA, Corsair Poetry

Exculpatory Lilies  ●  Susan Musgrave, Canada, McClelland & Stewart

Balladz  ●  Sharon Olds, USA, Alfred A. Knopf

Best Barbarian  ●  Roger Reeves, USA, W. W. Norton

Bless the Daughter Raised by a Voice in Her Head  ●  Warsan Shire, Somali/UK, Penguin Canada

Time Is a Mother  ●  Ocean Vuong, Vietnam/USA, Cape Poetry, and Penguin Press

The five shortlisted books will be announced on Wednesday, April 19, 2023.

The winner will be announced at the Griffin Poetry Prize Readings to be held at Koerner Hall on Wednesday, June 7, and will be awarded $130,000.  The other shortlisted finalists will each receive $10,000.

Tickets for the 2023 Griffin Poetry Prize Readings are now on sale and can be purchased at the box office of Koerner Hall, 273 Bloor Street West or online.

General Admission, inc. 2023 Anthology – $30.00

Senior/Student, inc. 2023 Anthology – $25.00

Note to Booksellers:  Griffin Poetry Prize book stickers are supplied free of charge.  Please contact Ruth Smith at to place an order.  

Media Inquiries: Melissa Shirley, (647) 389-9510,

General Inquiries: Ruth Smith, Executive Director, (905) 618-0420,

2023 Finalists

Tasos Livaditis – Poems, Volume II

translated from the Greek written by
Libros Libertad, Canada

The Threshold Shortlisted

translated from the Arabic written by
Iman MersalEgypt/Canada
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, USA
Sarah Holland-BattAustralia

The Jaguar

University of Queensland Press, Australia

The Hurting Kind Shortlisted

Little, Brown Book Group/Corsair, UK
Susan MusgraveCanada

Exculpatory Lilies Shortlisted

McClelland & Stewart, Canada


Alfred A. Knopf, USA

Best Barbarian Winner

W. W. Norton & Company, USA
Warsan ShireSomali/UK

Bless the Daughter Raised by a Voice in Her Head

Penguin Random House Canada, Canada
Ocean VuongVietnam/USA

Time Is a Mother Shortlisted

Cape Poetry, UK
Penguin Press, USA

News Archive

2024 Announcements

Mark your calendars for these important announcements. March 20, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Longlist of announced April 17, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist announced May …

Announcing the 2024 Judges

TORONTO – October 4, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that A. F. Moritz (Canada), Jan Wagner (Germany), and Anne Waldman (USA) are the judges for the 2024 …

2023 Griffin Poetry Prize Winner

TORONTO – June 7, 2023 –The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce the 2023 winner, Best Barbarian by Roger Reeves, who received C$130,000 in prize money. The other finalists …

2023 Canadian First Book Prize Winner

TORONTO – May 17, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that Emily Riddle, author of The Big Melt, is the winner of the 2023 …