Skip to content

Music for the Dead and Resurrected by Valzhyna Mort and The Dyzgraphxst by Canisia Lubrin Win the 2021 Griffin Poetry Prize

TORONTO – Music for the Dead and Resurrected by Valzhyna Mort, (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) and The Dyzgraphxst by Canisia Lubrin (McClelland & Stewart) are the International and Canadian winners of the 2021 Griffin Poetry Prize, each receiving C$65,000 in prize money. The other finalists will be awarded $10,000 each.



Music for the Dead and Resurrected
Valzhyna Mort



The Dyzgraphxst
Canisia Lubrin

The Griffin Poetry Prize was founded in 2000 to encourage and celebrate excellence in poetry. The prize is for first edition books of poetry written in, or translated into, English and submitted from anywhere in the world.

The judges for the 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize are Paula Meehan (Ireland), Kei Miller (Jamaica/UK) and Hoa Nguyen (Canada). These distinguished writers and poets each read 572 books of poetry, received from fourteen countries around the globe, including translations from eighteen different languages. The trustees of The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry select the judges annually.

International Winner

Canadian Winner

The 2021 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist:


  • Victoria Chang’s Obit published by Copper Canyon Press
  • Valzhyna Mort’s Music for the Dead and Resurrected, published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Srikanth Reddy’s Underworld Lit published by Wave Books
  • Tracy K. Smith’s and Changtai Bi’s translation, from the Chinese, of My Name Will Grow Wide Like a Tree, written by Yi Lei, published by Graywolf Press


  • Joseph Dandurand’s The East Side of It All, published by Nightwood Editions
  • Canisia Lubrin’s Dyzgraphxst, published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Yusuf Saadi’s Pluviophile, published by Nightwood Editions

Note to Booksellers: Griffin Poetry Prize book stickers are supplied free of charge. Please contact Ruth Smith to place an order.

For further information, contact:

Media Inquiries
Melissa Shirley
Tel: (647) 389-9510

General Inquiries
Ruth Smith
Executive Director
Tel: (905) 618-0420

See also

News Archive

Translation Talks: November 3, 2023

Join us on Thursday, November 3rd at 7:00pm ET on Zoom for our third Translation Talks, featuring Ali Kinsella and Dzvinia Orlowsky in conversation with Mira Rosenthal. Register on Eventbrite …