Skip to content

Save the Date: 2022 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist Announcement

Join us here on Wednesday, April 13, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. (ET) for the 2022 Griffin Poetry Prize International and Canadian shortlist announcement.

You can also discover the shortlist on our Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Judges: Adam Dickinson (Canada), Valzhyna Mort (Belarus/US), and Claudia Rankine (Jamaica/US)
On June 15, 2022, the winners of the 2022 Griffin Poetry Prize will be announced.
Prize money will be awarded as follows:

  • $65,000 to each of the winners
  • $10,000 to each of the shortlisted poets

By funding the Griffin Poetry Prize – one of the world’s largest prizes for a first edition single collection of poetry written in or translated into English – The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry aims to spark the public’s imagination and raise awareness of the crucial role that poetry plays in our cultural life.
The Griffin Trust was founded in April 2000 by Chairman Scott Griffin, along with Trustees Margaret Atwood, Robert Hass, Michael Ondaatje, Robin Robertson, and David Young. The current trustees are Mark Doty, Carolyn Forché, Scott Griffin, Sarah Howe, Paul Muldoon, Karen Solie, Aleš Šteger, and Ian Williams.

News Archive

2024 Canadian First Book Prize Winner

TORONTO – May 29, 2024 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that Maggie Burton, author of Chores, is the winner of the 2024 Canadian …

2024 Announcements

Mark your calendars for these important announcements. March 20, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Longlist of announced April 17, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist announced May …

Announcing the 2024 Judges

TORONTO – October 4, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that A. F. Moritz (Canada), Jan Wagner (Germany), and Anne Waldman (USA) are the judges for the 2024 …

2023 Griffin Poetry Prize Winner

TORONTO – June 7, 2023 –The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce the 2023 winner, Best Barbarian by Roger Reeves, who received C$130,000 in prize money. The other finalists …