Skip to content

Save the Date: 2023 Griffin Poetry Prize Longlist Announcement

Join us online on Wednesday, March 15, 2023 at 10:00 a.m. (ET) for the 2023 Griffin Poetry Prize longlist announcement on our website, Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Judges: Nikola Madzirov (Macedonia), Gregory Scofield (Canada), and Natasha Trethewey (USA)

A longlist of 10 books will be announced on March 15, followed by a shortlist announcement of 5 books on April 19, during National Poetry Month.

The shortlisted poets, Lifetime Recognition Award recipient, and Canadian First Book Prize winner will be invited to take part in the poetry readings at Koerner Hall in Toronto on June 7, where the winners will be announced on-stage. The event will be ticketed and open to the public.

Prize money will be awarded as follows:

  • C$130,000 to the winner
  • C$10,000 to each of the shortlisted poets
  • C$10,000 to the Canadian First Book Prize winner
  • C$25,000 to the Lifetime Recognition Award recipient

The Griffin Poetry Prize—the world’s most generous prize for a first edition single collection of poetry written in or translated into English—is designed to emphasize the international nature of poetry, and the importance of translations, which speaks to all peoples and cultures around the world.

The Griffin Poetry Prize was founded in April 2000 by Chairman Scott Griffin, along with trustees Margaret Atwood, Robert Hass, Michael Ondaatje, Robin Robertson, and David Young. The current trustees are Mark Doty, Carolyn Forché, Scott Griffin, Sarah Howe, Paul Muldoon, Karen Solie, Aleš Šteger, and Ian Williams.

News Archive

2024 Canadian First Book Prize Winner

TORONTO – May 29, 2024 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that Maggie Burton, author of Chores, is the winner of the 2024 Canadian …

2024 Announcements

Mark your calendars for these important announcements. March 20, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Longlist of announced April 17, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist announced May …

Announcing the 2024 Judges

TORONTO – October 4, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that A. F. Moritz (Canada), Jan Wagner (Germany), and Anne Waldman (USA) are the judges for the 2024 …