Skip to content

2022 Shortlist

International Shortlist

Canadian Shortlist

The Prize

A History of Excellence

By funding the Griffin Poetry Prize — one of the world’s largest prizes for a first edition single collection of poetry written in or translated into English — The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry aims to spark the public’s imagination and raise awareness of the crucial role that poetry plays in our cultural life. Explore the 22-year history of the Griffin Poetry Prize here.

The Griffin Poetry Prize awards two literary prizes of $65,000 — a Canadian prize is given to a living poet/translator, and an International prize is given to a living poet/translator from any country in the world, including Canada. Both prizes may include works in translation. The other shortlisted poets are each awarded $10,000. Read about our submissions process here.