Skip to content

2023 Shortlist Announcement

2023 Shortlist

The Threshold Shortlisted

translated from the Arabic written by
Iman MersalEgypt/Canada
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, USA

The Hurting Kind Shortlisted

Little, Brown Book Group/Corsair, UK
Susan MusgraveCanada

Exculpatory Lilies Shortlisted

McClelland & Stewart, Canada

Best Barbarian Winner

W. W. Norton & Company, USA
Ocean VuongVietnam/USA

Time Is a Mother Shortlisted

Cape Poetry, UK
Penguin Press, USA

TORONTO – April 19, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce the 2023 Shortlist.  

Judges Nikola Madzirov (Macedonia), Gregory Scofield (Canada), and Natasha Trethewey (USA) each read 602 books of poetry, including 54 translations from 20 languages, submitted by 229 publishers from 20 different countries.

The winner will be announced at the Griffin Poetry Prize Readings and will be awarded $130,000.  The other finalists will each be awarded $10,000 for their participation.  

The Readings will be held at Koerner Hall on Wednesday, June 7 and the evening will include a selection of readings by the five shortlisted poets, this year’s Lifetime Recognition Award recipient, and the Canadian First Book Prize winner, who will be announced on Wednesday, May 17 at 10.00 a.m.  Tickets are now on sale and can be purchased at the box office of Koerner Hall, 273 Bloor Street West, or online.

General Admission, with 2023 Anthology – $30.00

Senior/Student, with 2023 Anthology – $25.00

Click here for the full 2023 Longlist.

Note to Booksellers:  Griffin Poetry Prize book stickers are supplied free of charge.  Please contact Ruth Smith at to place an order.  

Media Inquiries: Melissa Shirley, (647) 389-9510

General Inquiries: Ruth Smith, Executive Director, (905) 618-0420

News Archive

2024 Announcements

Mark your calendars for these important announcements. March 20, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Longlist of announced April 17, 2024 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist announced May …

Announcing the 2024 Judges

TORONTO – October 4, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that A. F. Moritz (Canada), Jan Wagner (Germany), and Anne Waldman (USA) are the judges for the 2024 …

2023 Griffin Poetry Prize Winner

TORONTO – June 7, 2023 –The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce the 2023 winner, Best Barbarian by Roger Reeves, who received C$130,000 in prize money. The other finalists …

2023 Canadian First Book Prize Winner

TORONTO – May 17, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce that Emily Riddle, author of The Big Melt, is the winner of the 2023 …