Skip to content

The Griffin Poetry Prize Announces the 2020 International and Canadian Shortlist

TORONTO – April 7, 2020 – Scott Griffin, on behalf of the trustees of The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry, is pleased to announce the International and Canadian shortlist for this year’s prize. Judges Paula Meehan (Ireland), Kei Miller (Jamaica/UK), and Hoa Nguyen (Canada) each read 572 books of poetry, from 14 countries, including 37 translations.

The two winners, to be announced via our social media channels (web site, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram) on Tuesday, May 19, will each be awarded $65,000. The other finalists – 3 International, and 2 Canadian, will be awarded $10,000.

International Shortlist

How to Dress a Fish • Abigail Chabitnoy
Wesleyan University Press

Arias • Sharon Olds
Jonathan Cape and Alfred A. Knopf

Time • Sarah Riggs, translated from the French
written by Etel Adnan


Lima :: Limón • Natalie Scenters-Zapico
Copper Canyon Press

Canadian Shortlist

How She Read • Chantal Gibson
Caitlin Press

heft • Doyali Islam
McClelland & Stewart

Magnetic Equator • Kaie Kellough
McClelland & Stewart

Note to Booksellers: Griffin Poetry Prize book stickers are supplied free of charge. Please contact Ruth Smith to place an order.

For further information, contact:

Media Inquiries
Melissa Shirley
Tel: (647) 389-9510

General Inquiries
Ruth Smith
Executive Director
Tel: (905) 618-0420

See also

News Archive

2023 Longlist Announcement

TORONTO – March 15, 2023 – The Griffin Poetry Prize is pleased to announce the 2023 Longlist.  Judges Nikola Madzirov (Macedonia), Gregory Scofield (Canada), and …